Home :: Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
1102 results found
Show results 1 - 35
Jun 13, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Nice reflector. Well built, easy to access bulb, hanging kit easy to adjust. Not too large, but looks pretty massive over my 20G IM AIO.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 13, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Purchased this for my Cayman Sun reflector. Nice colour, tint a blue, nothing else to say now. It's MH.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 10, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought for a shelf in my boys bedroom. It being an all in one system with basically plug and play capability made this so appealing. A beautiful little saltwater tank that we are using as a nano reef. Reefsupplies.ca once again provided unmatched shipping and service.

Advantages: All in one, plug and play.
Very clean look.
Light included.

Disadvantages: Return pump could be stronger but simple MJ upgrade helped.
No Skimmer or ATO, although not absolutely necessary to get going, are recommended upgrades.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
TJ Gibson about  Hanna Marine Salinity Tester:
Jun 9, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
was abit worried that this tester would be inaccurate like my similar PH tester but I am very impressed with it ,quality construction and dead accurate so far!

Advantages: quality construction, even feels good in your hand, water proof, large clear display, very accurate, easy to use and calibrate, will test a lot more now!

Disadvantages: none so far, very happy with my purchase
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Michael Veldhuizen about  Professional Ground Control Titanium Probe:
Jun 7, 2019
Everytank ahould be grounded for saftey and for this price everyone should buy one
Comes with an option to ground straight to a box or just plug into wall, unlke other options
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Michael Veldhuizen about  Reef Octopus KS100 Nilson Kalkwasser Reactor:
Jun 7, 2019
Great quality and great product, works just like it should and coupled with a cheap timmer is the best way to add kalk to you tank.

Advantages: Simple to operate
Good build quality
Works good
Silent operation
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Michael Veldhuizen about  IceCap Backup Battery:
Jun 6, 2019
The best investment to protect your reef! I accidently switched my power bar off and this functioned just as it was supost too. I noticed about 2 hours later but im sure saved it would have saved my tank if i didnt notice.. sooo worth it

Advantages: Soo worth it
Can hook up 2 power heads to it
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Michael Veldhuizen about  Brightwell Aquatics Microbacter7 (500ml):
Jun 6, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Use it on all my tanks on initial set up and also weekly dosed

Advantages: Keeps tank clean and healthy, easy to use, and great for init cycle
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Michael Veldhuizen about  Eshopps R-100 3rd Generation Refugium:
Jun 6, 2019
Great sump if u want to have a skimmer and a refugium. Very happy with how it performs, and i like the built in ato float valve. Its a little tight in the return chamber with the float pending on the size of pump u are using. Silent operation and great dgrowth in the refugium!

Advantages: Silent
Has filter sock and hose inc.
Nice size fuge and skimmer sections and are feed individualy

Disadvantages: Hard to clean in some areas of sump
A touch small return section
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 6, 2019
This pump puts out a ton of flow! I love the multi directional flow, and the fact that each side can be directed individualy. The options are decent, and the controlor is very easy to use. Iam happy with it overal

Advantages: Easy to use
Great flow
Dec options
Looks good in tank


Disadvantages: Is a little noisey when it ramps up
The cord makes the unit turn a bit sideways...could use a touch stronger magnet for certian aplications (my 2x2 tank is fairly thick glass)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 6, 2019
The pump puts out alot of water movement..way more than i was expecting, Its nice so i dont have to run the pump at full blast and i get quiter operation that way

Advantages: Great flow and cleaning action of the whole tank. I love the adj sides wich allows u to direct the flow in different dirrections

Disadvantages: Fairly big for a med tank but still looks good in the top side of the tank
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Michael Veldhuizen about  Reef Octopus Regal 150INT Protein Skimmer:
Jun 6, 2019
Love the skimmer, suppper silent! Produces very fine foam and some nasty skimmate lol
Very little break in period.

Advantages: Has a built in overfull sensor
Very silent operation
2 different times for feed mode
Smaller package size for what it produces

Disadvantages: I dropped the lid a few inches off the ground and the lid chipped, the acrylic is thick and feels like good quality.. i do have terrible luck mind you haha
I orderd the self cleaning head as well so it wasnt a big deal as it wont be needed with the self cleaning head
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 6, 2019
Pump works well, and is silent. I love the feed mode and its time is accurate

Advantages: It has a small size, but still puts out decent flow that can handle head pressure
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
David Handfield about  Fauna Marin DINO X algae remover 250ml:
Jun 1, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Followed directions and this product quickly removed hair algae from my aquarium and had a slight impact on the Dinos but did not eliminate them. Unfortunately this product either killed or is killing almost all my soft corals. Even almost 1 month after stopping treatment despite daily water changes my corals are on a downward spiral. Dinos are healthy and well however. Fish were not impacted at all at least. Would not recommend if you have any corals.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 31, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
My tangs go crazy for this food. I think it's their favorite.

Disadvantages: Would like a larger size for bigger fish.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jorg Aswald about  Ecotech ReefLink:
May 30, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Recent purchase. Set up easier than expected, step by step. Allows for much better run of 2 MP40s. At times difficult to connect to cell phone, but may indeed work better if plugged into the router (cable provided with purchase)

Advantages: Much increased ability to individualize pumps.

Disadvantages: Still working on being able to connect to pumps every time I choose.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Lane Unger about  Neptune WAV Single Pump:
May 28, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Love these. I am apex stupid and got these going in a matter of a couple minutes. They are extremely powerful and I really like the slim magnet profile on the outside of the tank.

Advantages: Powerful. Cool to have options on where to point it. The auto shut off feature is rad. Slim outside of tank profile which is great when you have multiple viewing angles and don't want a bulky motor sticking out at you.

Disadvantages: The slider for how you position the pump is pretty difficult to adjust. I had to reef on it pretty good to get it into the position I wanted.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 28, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
woooooow. This pump is so awesome. I have only been using it for a couple of days but am so impressed with the quality so far. I bought three of these, 2 for my return pumps (one for redundancy) and one for a very large mixing station. My sump is in a basement and pumps water up to the next floor with a height of about 12 feet. I had to turn the pump down to 50 % and it is still a tad too powerful. Love it. You get what you pay for and this was worth the money. I was going to invest in an abyzz but for the price of one of those I was able to get three of these.

Advantages: So easy to set up. Small footprint for a pump this powerful. Amazing head pressure. Extremely quiet. Looks slick.

Disadvantages: None so far.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 28, 2019
I upgraded to this from a jebao to reduce the noise of my aquarium. Not only was it quieter but also offers some awesome controllability. you can dial it up or down in as little as 1% increments, can hold water int he lines for feed mode and has a built in battery backup port! extremely happy with my upgrade

Advantages: Silent, powerful, controllable, holds water in line for feed mode., built in battery backup capability

Disadvantages: it did not come free in my box of cereal?
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 27, 2019
I love this. I added this into my sump to make it super quick to change carbon in and out and it works great. My sock doesn’t slip at all.

Advantages: Makes adding media a breeze if it’s something you just want to install quick and have running for a day or two without using a reactor.

Disadvantages: I had to fashion a lip for it... actually used a pvc pipe but if you have the right lip it’s a 1 minute install.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jack Lachapelle about  E.S.V. B-Ionic Magnesium - 1 gallon:
May 25, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Parfait pour utilisation avec le B-Ionic pour compléter le dosage
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 25, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Parfait pour utilisation avec pompe doseuse ou dosage manuel !

Disadvantages: Dépôt dans la bouteille d'alcalinité
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jorg Aswald about  Bubble Magus BM-T11 Dosing Pump:
May 22, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Solid built, easy to program and set up. Easy to change dosing amount and intervals.

Advantages: Works as advertised

Disadvantages: none
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 21, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Our 10 year aquarium got a makeover, restarted from scratch. Ordered 100 lbs of this premium Marco dry rock and it arrived within 5 days. Was packed well, although the delivery guy was less than thrilled with the heavy boxes. Many large pieces in the box, and some medium sized pieces. Very porous, you can hear the air being displaced as you immerse it in the aquarium after a quick rinse. No unwanted hitchhikers when you buy dry rock like this.

Advantages: Economically priced, lots of holes, very branched, porous, clean

Disadvantages: Shipping it costs money. Needs time to cure, will take time before it starts acquiring coralline algae. Dusty
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 21, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a great pump. I replaced an older Eheim pump that used three times more power to run.

Advantages: The DC motor allows for speed adjustments to fine tune flow rates. The motor consumes one-third of the electricity compared to my old Eheim pump. I went from 45 watts to 15 watts.
The pump is very quiet and the hose connectors are easy to use for the times when the pump needs to be removed for cleaning.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Bryan Lansdowne about  Ecotech Marine Radion XR15 Freshwater:
May 20, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Own four of these, very happy with them.

Run two on a 65 Gal (36" x 18" x 24") high-tech planted tank at 34% (63 watt total), moderately difficult plants, no carpets. Gives great light coverage, looks very even. Plants thriving. No question it produces great, usable light. Good penetration to substrate, even through floating plants.

Also run two on a 120 Gal X-High (60" x 18" x 25") Large SA Cichlid tank (no plants, fish uproot), decent light coverage, but probably should have used three lights. Still looks acceptable with two. Recommend one light every 24". Had these for better part of two years.

Wish they produced smaller lights for my other tanks.


Advantages: - Fantastic hardware quality, cannot stress this enough. The lights look good, perform great.

- Ecosmart Live is a great tool when working, fantastic scheduling, tons of options, and all in one place for lights, return pumps and wave makers.

- Keeps settings/time through power outages etc.

- Set and forget.

- Light spectrum for planted tanks looks good. Most light comes from cool white and warm white LEDs, with just a few other colors to tweak look. Looks like natural sunlight.

Disadvantages: - As others have mentioned on the saltwater version, very bright to sit in a room with due to lenses hanging below enclosure, the diffuser accessory fixes this.

- Nickel and Dimed (Twenty and Fiftied?) by accessories, Reeflink, Diffuser, Mounting System, etc.

- Ecosmart Live can be clunky at times, sometimes downright doesn't work. Server issues maybe? Not too much of an issue as you don't need to do much after initial setup.

- Phone app is mediocre at best.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Bryan Lansdowne about  Ecotech Marine Radion Diffuser - XR15:
May 20, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought these mostly to shield the eyes from the sides of the lights. My lights are mounted approx. 5 feet from floor, used to get terrible glare when sitting on couch directly from lights. Lights are still bright, but no longer an annoyance to sit below.

Would not buy another Radion without these. Must have accessory for Radions.

Advantages: - Removes disco ball effect
- More even lighting
- Less glare when looking directly at lights

Disadvantages: - Need slightly more power to achieve same brightness
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Bryan Lansdowne about  5 lb. CO2 Cylinder (Empty bottle):
May 20, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Exactly as described in description.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Bryan Lansdowne about  American Marine PINPOINT CO2 Regulator:
May 20, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Seems to be a bit of misinformation (and complaints) on this product if you search it on Google. I think an older version of this kit shipped without the adapter from other retailers.

The tread type on the regulator itself is W22, which will NOT fit a North American standard CGA320 bottle (such as for beverage carbonation systems) with a valve such as https://www.reefsupplies.ca/online-store/5-lb.-CO2-Cylinder-Empty.html or a painball pin type bottle. To be clear it may thread, but will NOT seal correctly.

However the INCLUDED adapter works on BOTH North American standard CGA320 bottles AND pin type paintball bottles (same thread, different point of seal and pin valve) . No additional adapter purchase is required. THIS IS A VERY NICE COMPLETE KIT. Kit also came with a check valve, which is not listed in the description.

An additional adapter would be required to use disposable type CO2 bottles, but these are usually available where they are sold. I ran through two disposable 3.2 oz bottles while waiting for my 5 lb to be filled.


This video shows it being installed without the adapter. I believe this installation is incorrect. It will thread and tighten but does not seal correctly! It looks like he has pressed the regulators stainless into the soft brass of the tank valve to achieve a seal instead of sealing on the intended gasket! You can see how many turns he has left on the valve, should only be 1, not 3, the post has bottomed out on valve. Not a long term solution! Adapter seals correctly on gasket. USE PROVIDED ADAPTER.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWhiZcGEaks


Anyway, highly recommend, but make sure you set it up correctly. Will likely purchase a second one.

Advantages: - Self regulating, great for beginners. No valve to bump.

- 12V solenoid stays cool. Should have long service life.

- Innovative bubble counter/solenoid combined unit, seems like less clutter and potentially less likely to be broken.

- Easy adjustment of needle valve, very smooth and accurate.

- Needle valve only adjustable with screwdriver in recessed screw, no accidental bumps changing your CO2 output.

- Fairly quiet solenoid, LED indicates open.

Disadvantages: -Included precision screwdriver too small to generate enough torque to turn needle valve especially towards lower end of bubble count (1 bubble/sec). Valve is a bit stiff which is good, shouldn't move on its own. Make sure you have a small screwdriver with a decent handle.

-Found the AC adapter to be odd shape, does not play well with my timer and power strip. Sticks out a little too far to go into the timer and clear the power bar. Consider ordering a replacement AC adapter or using a short extension cord.

-High pressure gauge doesn't seem to be very accurate, mine claims 500 psi in full tank, should be around 820 psi at room temp. Not really important, as soon as needle starts to drop its time to refill.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Lane Unger about  EvoReef 4" Frag Disc - 5 pack:
May 17, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I like it! hard to find discs this big in Canada so it's nice to find these here. The corals dig it so far and it looks good so I'm happy.

Advantages: Size, quality seems great

Disadvantages: none so far. I would like to see this size in a square tile.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 17, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I love this refractometer! So easy to set up and use. Very accurate, quick results. I will never go back to an old school refracto again.

Advantages: Easy to use. Fast

Disadvantages: Cost but ultimately worth it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Debra Moulton about  Aquaforest Nitrate Test Pro:
May 17, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Accurate and easy to use
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Debra Moulton about  Aquaforest Magnesium Test Pro:
May 17, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Seem to be very accurate and easy to use
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 17, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Works well
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 16, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great set, very simple to use and install,
Created great addition to my LED lights

Advantages: Versatile

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Gift certificates