Home :: Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
1456 results found
Show results 1 - 35
Jul 27, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I have 3 Dos I use them for AWC (auto water changes) what can I say I'm tired of carrying buckets.

Advantages: for me I can do a 30 gallon water change in a 24 hour period and only have to press a few icons on my cell phone

Disadvantages: I have mine in my garage so I don't hear them
But there are a lot of people that complain they are noisy
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 27, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
It's all about control
Powering off at the touch of your cell phone, getting alerts knowing what's going on with your system.

Advantages: Controlling your system...

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Genevieve Ouellet about  Lee's 2-Inch Wooden Air Diffuser, 2-Pack :
Jul 27, 2020
Large quantity of small bubbles, good for quarantine tanks or treatment that decreases available oxygen in the tank.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
RICHARD LAMMERS about  Boyd Chemiclean Red Slime Remover (2g):
Jul 27, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I had a problem with red slime that would not go away with water changes and cleanings. I used Chemiclean Red Slime Remover and after two treatments over seven days, it was completely gone.

Advantages: This product was safe for my fish and very easy to use.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jack Bell about  Klir Fleece Filter Di-4:
Jul 26, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
It works as it should after a little cleanup along the felt path. I could not get the roll to advance to take up the slack after inserting the unit into my sump which requires it to be bent open and then stood up again. The controller would just blink red if you hold the button to advance the roll. Its already wet by then so I left it for a few days to get dirty before removing the whole unit again. Once out everything seemed easy to move so I tried the controller to advance the roll and it worked. Back in it went and this time the controller would advance the roll to take up the slack. Has been working for the last week normally.

Advantages: No more socks to clean "YEAH!!!"

Disadvantages: The unit has promise but the steel drive roll shaft is very small with a very,very small flattened surface to drive the cheap plastic drive roller. This will likely be the end of the unit if we cannot get replacement drive rollers or they come up with a replacement with a metal insert. Second is the controller which CoralVue could have spent a few more dollars on. The motor, sensor and powersupply all plug into this "toy". One of the plugs is very short and its hard to tell if its making contact. This could have been my original issue with the controller. I hope I only have to use it when I change rolls. Last item is the round bottom adaptors to fit the hole in your sump. The smallest one is 3 7/8" and will not fit into 3 glass sumps that I tried. I did also try it in an older acrylic sump and it would just fit in that. So what I did is use the biggest adaptor ring so the unit actually sits on top of that ring. This works but now you need 1 3/4" rise in sump level to trigger the sensor to advance the roll. This measurement is very important or the unit will function properly.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 17, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Excellent skimmer started skim mate within a day.

Advantages: Very Quiet

Disadvantages: NONE
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Peter Boros about  Aqua Euro Max Chill 1/10 HP Chiller:
Jul 17, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Simple to install but location is critical. There are two factors to consider when choosing the size of unit. First is obvious, aquarium size. The second is not so and not mentioned. The location of the chiller and the ambient temperature of the location when in use. The cooler looses efficiency when the temperature goes up and will overheat reducing its capacity to cool the water. It has been my experience that the air in the room cannot be more than 5 degrees higher to maintain set temperature. Under current heat wave of 10 degrees even higher, the unit cannot overcome the difference and set temperature cannot be reached. I strongly recommend buying a unit that exceeds the volume requirement to compensate. Unfortunately manufacturer does not mention this, the amount of heat generated by the cooler when operating is excessive. Rather surprising when compared to portable A/C units it seems to be so much more.

Advantages: Under normal use the cooler is quiet, cycles on/off and maintains temperature.

Disadvantages: Will overheat and cannot maintain temperature when operating under high temperatures as mentioned. In my opinion it is critical to buy a unit that exceeds volume demands and not just meet them.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Shane Brough about  Hydor Smart Level Control ATO System:
Jul 16, 2020
I've been using this ATO since 2014 or so and have had no issues with it. Yes it can be annoying with the alarm, but I've never had it flood my tank. I think it will run for 10 minutes and if it doesn't reach it's normal level itll stop the pump and go into an audible alarm for you to check and see what's going on. I think the only thing that would make this product better is if there was an "acknowledge" button or something to stop the alarm (like say if you shut your pump off for feeding). I use this ATO with a Tom's aquatics aqua lifter.

Advantages: Has been very reliable, price is pretty fair

Disadvantages: Alarm can be annoying at times, but atleast it works
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 14, 2020
Works well

Advantages: takes a lot of stuff out of the water

Disadvantages: It is a little loud at first and overflowed a lot,
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 12, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great ato would buy again

Advantages: Works great

Disadvantages: A little pricey
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 8, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I have several LPS like Acans, Blastos Candy Cane, etc. and to be honest they don’t really seem to enjoy this that much. I have over a few months offered this to them and it seems to mostly be ignored. I get huge feeding responses from the same LPS when I feed something more meaty like homemade fish food. I will continue to try this until I can get a different brand and see if there is any change.

Advantages: Easy to feed
Fairly inexpensive for the quantity

Disadvantages: Coral don’t seem to enjoy it as much as other food.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sean S about  AquaFX Booster Pump Kit:
Jul 7, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
May need Teflon tape to put around fixture

Advantages: Booster pump can be adjusted

Disadvantages: Does not come with Allan key.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 7, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Product is very good and service is exceptional. All your questions are answered before buying and after buying product

Advantages: You can’t go wrong with the product

Disadvantages: My tap water rating was above the 180 mark so I am still using the 3-1 ratio
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sean Esopenko about  Seneye Reef Monitor w/ light meter:
Jul 6, 2020
Accurate par meter for the price. The vision of the product's design is awkward. You have to hope they never go out of business otherwise the software will stop working.

Advantages: Directional par meter means you can get readings of all facings of a given coral colony.

Disadvantages: Need to connect PC to get readings. Ammonia detector not useful for the long term. Leaving unit in tank leads to sponges and other things growing on it which can ruin the light meter. Software is closed source and inline, and thus depends on manufacturer not going out of business. 2x I've had problems with the software asking me to "upgrade" to enable the par meter. 1st time required one of their programmers to manually fix something on their end. 2nd time required a software reinstallation.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Chris B about  Red Sea Marine Care Test Kit:
Jul 4, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Would not recommend whatsoever. The only tests that read accurately were the nitrite and nitrate. When cycling my tank, never detected ammonia for weeks. When i brought it to my LPS who uses salifert, they found a large amount of ammonia.

Fast forward to many months later. I started dosing ALK as the test says I was too low. The ALK test read the same numbers as I continued to dose. Again took my water to the LPS, totally different result. Caused me to overdose my tank and spike my ALK.

Advantages: Nitrate test is decent enough.

Disadvantages: ALK test is use pretty well useless, resulted in me spiking my ALK 3 points.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 3, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Works as it should, slight rinse once in filter bag and I personally change every 2 weeks, but that is just me.

Advantages: Cleans easily, water is clear.

Disadvantages: None so far
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jason Bell about  Fauna Marin Bacto Reef Balls 100ml:
Jul 3, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I have about 200g total water volume, I started with 8 balls they were gone in 3 days, upped that to 12 and gone in 3 days, now after a month I use 16 every 2 weeks.

The small patches of algae that were persistent are now gone. My corals look better and that is without any other changes during this period. Give it time and I am sure they will work for you.

Advantages: Easy to use, toss in a filter bag and place in high flow area.

Disadvantages: None so far
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Luke Morrison about  Aquaforest Sea Salt Box 25kg:
Jul 2, 2020
Great salt

Advantages: Best price !
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 2, 2020
It was my favourite rock to use to get height , I asked for larger sizes and got what I was wanting and was easy enough to chip to smaller ones to stack to gain my caves

Advantages: Perfectly flat and many holes to frags and water flow

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 2, 2020
Exactly as described

Advantages: Good for bare bottoms

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 2, 2020
Great stuff , wish I got more of it . Told them roughly what I was looking for and did well , 5 stars !

Advantages: Probably the best looking shelf rocks
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 2, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Grazers love the food, especially my Emperor Angelfish who pecks at it all day. The tab will last for many hours which I really like. I take the left over out in the evening but sometimes I forgot it and my clean-up-crew took care of it during the night. I put a tab every three days as supplementary diet since all my fish eat flakes and pellets now. Would have put 5 stars but the suction cup is absolutely useless and comes loose all the time. I use the magnet holder from Two-Little-Fishies feeding ring to hold the tablet. They should sell a magnet holder instead.

Advantages: Remains for many hours for all-day grazing

Disadvantages: Suction cup worthless. Magnet would be better
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Candace Summers about  Collapsible Fish Trap - Medium:
Jul 1, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I'm giving this trap a 5 star review, after catching a flame angel in under 2 hours. The flame has been eating coral in my tank for about a month (over 1k in damage). I had tried nets, a homemade trap with a coke bottle and nothing worked. The angel seemed too smart for it all and the design of the homemade trap really stressed out the fish that it did trap (essentially all but the flame). I put this trap in this evening and kept feeding, while also having mirrors on the outside of the tank to lure fish in. After an hour I was getting discouraged, stopped watching and made dinner. While cleaning up from dinner (and not looking at the tank) the flame was in the trap. I quickly pulled the cord and bam! The fish is trapped.

Assembly was easy, this worked wonderfully and didn't stress out the fish who didn't need to be trapped. Also amazing service from Reef Supplies to get it to me quick. Thank you so much!

Advantages: Easy assembly
Doesn't stress your other fish
Worked quickly for my flame angel
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Stephanie Walton about  Collapsible Fish Trap - Small:
Jun 25, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Highly recommend! quality is great, its not cheap or thin made, its actually very well constructed acrylic. I find its easier to entice the fish over with both mysis in the bait tube and also some seaweed on a rock pushed all the way to the back. I left the trap there for the day so they could get use to it, then i added the food later. Within a few hours i caught my clown.

Advantages: Having a unit like this to capture fish means no dismantling rock work, or stressing out the entire tank.

Disadvantages: Literally none that i have noticed.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Andrea Pinhey about  Eheim (Ebo) Jager 100W Heater (12 inch):
Jun 25, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Excellent quality heater. Very reliable and very reasonably priced. One of the best on the market.

Advantages: Reliable, good price, durable

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Claude Labrie about  Salifert Alkalinity (KH) Test kit:
Jun 25, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Salifert is not as refined as Red Sea but there lots are easy to use. The most important factor is that the colour change is much more easier to read on the Salifert.

Advantages: Colour change
Simple

Disadvantages: Not as refined as Red Sea
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 22, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
First impressions are great, very strong pump and dead silent, I run a Ecotech M1 on my display and it’s just as silent, at half the cost.

I’ve run smaller versions without reliability issues.

My only real complaint is the a Abundance of barb fitting adaptors they provided and not a single reducer for those would want to use PVC, going from 1 ¼ to ¾ is bonkers.

Pro tip, the Vectra M1 collar and reducer is a perfect fit on this model and only requires a 1” to ¾ reducer.


Advantages: Cheap, powerful, silent, dependable

Disadvantages: Not hard plumbing friendly out of the box.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Alain Arroyo about  Spectrapure MPDI 90GPD RO/DI SYSTEM:
Jun 21, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
All items works as promised!

Advantages: TDS meter and manual flush valve a must have add on. Quality materials.

Disadvantages: Add ons do not come pre assembled but not difficult to do. YouTube is your friend.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 18, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Purchased to use externally as a cheto reactor. I didn’t realize the inlet/outlet are on the body of the reactor. It makes for removing it once plumbed impossible. I own two other brands and both have connections on the lid allowing you to removing the cylinder/media side easily. No issues other then the design.

Advantages: 1/2” plumbing connections.
Budget friendly.
Built in tank mounts If needed


Disadvantages: Lid design.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 17, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
The original version was awesome my corals grew and some even span new ones. I am looking forward to the next couple of months to see this improved version results.

Advantages: Staying with one brand has ensured a balanced system and great results.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Katalina Alexa about  Aqua Illumination Prime Tank Mount:
Jun 16, 2020
Very nice tank mount, looks great on my tank

Disadvantages: Wish the cord was not so visible
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Katalina Alexa about  Aqua Knight Nano Marine LED A029 - V2:
Jun 16, 2020
Great light for a smaller tank!

Disadvantages: Wish there was some information on good light settings.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Melissa Vanstaalduinen about  The Rock-Mag Junior Magnetic Rock:
Jun 16, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is the third rocklike magnetic mount that can be used for frags I have purchased. I have purchased one from ******** and one from *******. This is the worst of the 3. ****** is the best so far, but I have yet to try the *****.

This Mag rock Jr comes with a single magnet. I have found this magnet to be the weakest of all the ones I have purchased. This mount is also not perfectly centred around the magnet causing it to rotate awkwardly about the magnet. This reduces the utility of the Mag rock Jr.
With no predrilled frag plug holes one may have to drill their own. However, as evidenced by edges chipping in transit to me, the material is not very strong.

I do like the large size, but it really needs a second magnet to make that work. The large size helps it to disguise my overflow box which is great.

It is also less expensive than competitors, but it also performs and feels that way.

I would not suggest the mag rock junior at this time.

Advantages: Doesn’t look like egg crate or acrylic frag racks
Low price compared to competitors


Disadvantages: Weak magnet
Only one magnet
Offcenter magnet
No predrilled frag plus holes (although this does make it look better)
Brittle material
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 10, 2020
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Workhorse Pumps! I purchased this pump for a mixing station build. Having owned many of Meg drive pumps in the past. I know they last for years. They are loud and can cost more to run. However simple durable, compact size and upfront affordability is why I decided on the Meg9.5 for this project.



Advantages: Simple plug and play. Internal/external rated. Replacement parts available if ever needed. Easy to maintain and clean. Good value!

Disadvantages: High power consumption over a DC pump.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jordan Kupisz about  Ecotech Marine Radion XR15 Blue G5:
Jun 9, 2020
Great lights, amazing colour and coverage. I'm running them at 50% intensity and getting great par numbers from the top of my rockwork all the way to the sand.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Gift certificates