Home :: Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
1083 results found
Show results 1 - 35
May 21, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a great pump. I replaced an older Eheim pump that used three times more power to run.

Advantages: The DC motor allows for speed adjustments to fine tune flow rates. The motor consumes one-third of the electricity compared to my old Eheim pump. I went from 45 watts to 15 watts.
The pump is very quiet and the hose connectors are easy to use for the times when the pump needs to be removed for cleaning.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Bryan Lansdowne about  Ecotech Marine Radion XR15 Freshwater:
May 20, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Own four of these, very happy with them.

Run two on a 65 Gal (36" x 18" x 24") high-tech planted tank at 34% (63 watt total), moderately difficult plants, no carpets. Gives great light coverage, looks very even. Plants thriving. No question it produces great, usable light. Good penetration to substrate, even through floating plants.

Also run two on a 120 Gal X-High (60" x 18" x 25") Large SA Cichlid tank (no plants, fish uproot), decent light coverage, but probably should have used three lights. Still looks acceptable with two. Recommend one light every 24". Had these for better part of two years.

Wish they produced smaller lights for my other tanks.


Advantages: - Fantastic hardware quality, cannot stress this enough. The lights look good, perform great.

- Ecosmart Live is a great tool when working, fantastic scheduling, tons of options, and all in one place for lights, return pumps and wave makers.

- Keeps settings/time through power outages etc.

- Set and forget.

- Light spectrum for planted tanks looks good. Most light comes from cool white and warm white LEDs, with just a few other colors to tweak look. Looks like natural sunlight.

Disadvantages: - As others have mentioned on the saltwater version, very bright to sit in a room with due to lenses hanging below enclosure, the diffuser accessory fixes this.

- Nickel and Dimed (Twenty and Fiftied?) by accessories, Reeflink, Diffuser, Mounting System, etc.

- Ecosmart Live can be clunky at times, sometimes downright doesn't work. Server issues maybe? Not too much of an issue as you don't need to do much after initial setup.

- Phone app is mediocre at best.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Bryan Lansdowne about  Ecotech Marine Radion Diffuser - XR15:
May 20, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought these mostly to shield the eyes from the sides of the lights. My lights are mounted approx. 5 feet from floor, used to get terrible glare when sitting on couch directly from lights. Lights are still bright, but no longer an annoyance to sit below.

Would not buy another Radion without these. Must have accessory for Radions.

Advantages: - Removes disco ball effect
- More even lighting
- Less glare when looking directly at lights

Disadvantages: - Need slightly more power to achieve same brightness
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Bryan Lansdowne about  5 lb. CO2 Cylinder (Empty bottle):
May 20, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Exactly as described in description.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Bryan Lansdowne about  American Marine PINPOINT CO2 Regulator:
May 20, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Seems to be a bit of misinformation (and complaints) on this product if you search it on Google. I think an older version of this kit shipped without the adapter from other retailers.

The tread type on the regulator itself is W22, which will NOT fit a North American standard CGA320 bottle (such as for beverage carbonation systems) with a valve such as https://www.reefsupplies.ca/online-store/5-lb.-CO2-Cylinder-Empty.html or a painball pin type bottle. To be clear it may thread, but will NOT seal correctly.

However the INCLUDED adapter works on BOTH North American standard CGA320 bottles AND pin type paintball bottles (same thread, different point of seal and pin valve) . No additional adapter purchase is required. THIS IS A VERY NICE COMPLETE KIT. Kit also came with a check valve, which is not listed in the description.

An additional adapter would be required to use disposable type CO2 bottles, but these are usually available where they are sold. I ran through two disposable 3.2 oz bottles while waiting for my 5 lb to be filled.


This video shows it being installed without the adapter. I believe this installation is incorrect. It will thread and tighten but does not seal correctly! It looks like he has pressed the regulators stainless into the soft brass of the tank valve to achieve a seal instead of sealing on the intended gasket! You can see how many turns he has left on the valve, should only be 1, not 3, the post has bottomed out on valve. Not a long term solution! Adapter seals correctly on gasket. USE PROVIDED ADAPTER.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWhiZcGEaks


Anyway, highly recommend, but make sure you set it up correctly. Will likely purchase a second one.

Advantages: - Self regulating, great for beginners. No valve to bump.

- 12V solenoid stays cool. Should have long service life.

- Innovative bubble counter/solenoid combined unit, seems like less clutter and potentially less likely to be broken.

- Easy adjustment of needle valve, very smooth and accurate.

- Needle valve only adjustable with screwdriver in recessed screw, no accidental bumps changing your CO2 output.

- Fairly quiet solenoid, LED indicates open.

Disadvantages: -Included precision screwdriver too small to generate enough torque to turn needle valve especially towards lower end of bubble count (1 bubble/sec). Valve is a bit stiff which is good, shouldn't move on its own. Make sure you have a small screwdriver with a decent handle.

-Found the AC adapter to be odd shape, does not play well with my timer and power strip. Sticks out a little too far to go into the timer and clear the power bar. Consider ordering a replacement AC adapter or using a short extension cord.

-High pressure gauge doesn't seem to be very accurate, mine claims 500 psi in full tank, should be around 820 psi at room temp. Not really important, as soon as needle starts to drop its time to refill.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Lane Unger about  EvoReef 4" Frag Disc - 5 pack:
May 17, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I like it! hard to find discs this big in Canada so it's nice to find these here. The corals dig it so far and it looks good so I'm happy.

Advantages: Size, quality seems great

Disadvantages: none so far. I would like to see this size in a square tile.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 17, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I love this refractometer! So easy to set up and use. Very accurate, quick results. I will never go back to an old school refracto again.

Advantages: Easy to use. Fast

Disadvantages: Cost but ultimately worth it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Debra Moulton about  Aquaforest Nitrate Test Pro:
May 17, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Accurate and easy to use
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Debra Moulton about  Aquaforest Magnesium Test Pro:
May 17, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Seem to be very accurate and easy to use
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 17, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Works well
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 16, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great set, very simple to use and install,
Created great addition to my LED lights

Advantages: Versatile

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Kevin Fiero about  D&D EZECLEAN - 350G:
May 13, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Works great... a great deal better than water and vinegar!!
Everything came out looking like new
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 13, 2019
So far so good, pump is working perfectly, no complaints

Advantages: Ultra quiet compared to my old Water Blaster HY-7000

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 13, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Powerful, small, and reliable pumps. I use these accessory pumps for everything, Water changes. vacuuming the sump, and running my carbon and GFO. I've never had any issues.

Advantages: Quiet, powerful, reliable
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 13, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
A simple and effective canister filter. I love mine, I swapped out the media for marine pure bio balls and it works well. The canister makes sure no light gets in. Meanwhile the filter sponges and floss make sure it doesn't turn into a nitrate factory.

Advantages: Easy to clean, Quiet, Reliable
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 13, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
works great. Arrived quickly.

Advantages: Arrived in good time. Works well.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 9, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Required equipment if you want to run kessils with an apex.

Advantages: Gives you amazing control over your lights compared to the full spectrum controller

Disadvantages: The on percentage is even higher on the apex than the kessil controller.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jim Aguanno about  AquaFX Booster Pump Kit:
May 8, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Excellent pump and super easy to install. The in box instructions are not the best but just YouTube the video instructions. Boosted my water pressure from 40psi to the recommended 80psi and I noticed an improvement in power output tds.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 8, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Works exactly as described. paired with my finnex heater. I little bigger than I expected but it works. the temp probe is small and coated plastic so no parts to corrode or break like the Inkbird controller. Happy with this purchase
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 4, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I purchased the 1.5 inch ball valve and I am very impressed its huge and built very solid , the handle is very sturdy and its opening/closing is very smooth, no sticking, the built on unions are really nice and are super smooth to tighten and open, over all very happy with it

Advantages: very sturdy and gets the job done , comes with slip or thread unions

Disadvantages: none so far
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 2, 2019
Works great simple easy to use and calibrate.

Advantages: Easy to use able to calibrate with the push of a button.

Disadvantages: The meter is set to calibrate at 30ppt salinity which I've come to find out is a rather odd number if you want to buy replacement calibration fluid, everything else seems to be 35ppt.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 1, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Used as a standard PowerHead any MaxiJet has a Non-Metallic propeller shaft. Which is perfect for our Marine Biological Tanks (a plus for Reefers also). Since we don't use Calcium Reactors there is no Calcium Precipitate build-up in Propeller well (0 maintenance there). In both Reef Tanks & Marine Biological Systems you will need to unclog the Airline Tubing every 2/3 weeks (very easy).
We also use MaxiJets in a combination Trio: powering an Undergravel Filter - Intermediary Biological Filter - Our own Exclusive SBM Oxygen Reactor.
All MaxiJets are super quiet - very reliable - Durable . To us they are the best on the market !!

Advantages: As a Power Head: No Metallic Shaft - Silent - Durable - Versatile

Disadvantages: NONE besides the metallic shaft on included attachment
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ngai On Young about  Tunze Care Magnet Strong Algae Cleaner:
Apr 30, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I have a tank with 3/4" glass. I had a LONG already and ordered a STRONG version because I thought the magnet would be stronger. There is not noticeable difference in the magnet strength between the 2. The Strong is a complete waste of money (vs. the LONG version).
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 29, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great product, accurate.

Advantages: Easy to use
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
david camirand about  Fauna MarinBacto Reef Balls 250ml:
Apr 29, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Marche super bien l'eau est très clair et ça fait baisser les nitrates et phosphate pas en fou mais aide quand même
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Silvio Rostan about  Collapsible Fish Trap - Medium:
Apr 29, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This trap works amazing, get the fish I want to catch in no time!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 29, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Very useful material to put rocks together or stick frags on it
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Silvio Rostan about  AquaMaxx Reef Welder Epoxy Glue - 500ML:
Apr 29, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great stuff, very easy to work with and reusable
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ahmad Yamani about  Loc-Line 1/2 inch Ball Socket Y:
Apr 25, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Perfect for splitting the return on my RSR
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 25, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Getting 0 tds, more than enough to fill the housing!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 25, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Perfect for mixing 5 gallons of saltwater overnight
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ahmad Yamani about  Red Sea Reefer Skimmer - RSK-300:
Apr 25, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Took a week to break in and it's doing a perfect job in cleaning my 65 gallon aquarium

Advantages: Can be positioned in three different ways.
Neck cleaner with valve to empty the skim...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 25, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Getting 0 TDS with this

Advantages: Reliable brand
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 25, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Powerful enough for my 65 gallon 3ft aquarium

Advantages: Flow is adjustable

Disadvantages: Not too quiet
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 25, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Got two of these for my 65 gallon. One of the most reliable heaters out there. I was scared it could break when it was shipped, but it was packed perfectly!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Gift certificates