Home :: Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
816 results found
Show results 1 - 25
craig schoonmaker about  Icecap Salinity & Temperature Digital Tester:
Jul 13, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I am very pleased with this product. It works exactly as advertised.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 12, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Shipped out and arrived faster than expected which is always and plus!

Out of the box the metal mounting bracket was slightly bent (top left and lower left, by the sediment housing), but that didn't effect the performance of the unit (the box it was shipped in, was in pretty rough shape upon delivery).

After getting everything put together (which was very easy and straight forward), and the initial purge, the unit works flawlessly!
My tap water goes in at a TDS of 145ppm and comes out exactly at 0ppm on the product line.
I also purchased the manual flush valve fitting to help prolong the membranes after each use (which I highly recommend getting of you plan to buy this model).

Definitely one of the best, if not the best RODI unit, you can get in the hobby/trade for your money's worth!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Charles-Andre Lalonde about  Protein Skimmer Stand SST1 - 11"x7.5":
Jul 12, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Very well made. easy to setup and makes it easy to install the skimmer at the right water level.

Advantages: Sturdy and easy to setup.

Disadvantages: Would be nice to have smaller size. Takes a lot of space in the sump when you have smaller tanks.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Eric Vignola about  The Rock-Mag Junior Magnetic Rock:
Jul 11, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
DOes not even comes close to te picture shown, the rock I received has no texture it's all shinny almost look polished.

Advantages: Lets you take advantage of the back panel and overflow

Disadvantages: Looks nothing like you would find in the ocean.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 10, 2018
I ordered 30 lbs got to the yukon as rocks not dust so it was well packed. pieces were chosen well, had nice workable features and was easy to aquasapce.

Advantages: easy to work with, porus, clean and free of pests, nice features in the rocks, asked for mid to large sizes got what I asked for, rocks were well chosen for an appealing aquascape.

Disadvantages: Very dusty needed to soak two days in RO water with pump to clean it off.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 5, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
The rubber eye piece on my refractometer was warped making it difficult to prevent external light from entering the viewing area.
As a side note, the refractometer is much heavier on the prism side so use caution when handling for the first time so you don't drop it.

Advantages: comes with screw driver to calibrate and pipette for water sample
feels like its built solid
packaged well to prevent damage

Disadvantages: no calibration solution included
pricier then equivalent brands
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 4, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Ordered July 2018, other reviews claim this product has no seal/gasket/o-ring..... I can say that mine has a flat red rubber seal with a steel ring to tighten the bulkhead. Zero complaints, surpassed my expectations .... hopefully it will hold water when installed.

Advantages: Solid construction

Disadvantages: Price seems a bit hefty for what it is
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 4, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Changed my DI resin to this Color Changing DI resin about a month ago , so far so good! I do bi-weekly water changes. No color change yet and 0ppm. Item exactly as described and fast shipping to Sudbury, Ontario. The resealable mylar bag is a huge advantage for storing. Highly recommended.

Advantages: 1. Item exactly as described
2. Color changing
3. Price
4. Customer Service

Disadvantages: None at this moment.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 4, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I second the comment that the color does not change. It works but for me the lack of color changing is a hassle. I want my tank to be as low maintenance as possible and have my rodi controlled by my apex so I don't have to touch it. Color changing resin is my warning to start checking the tds so not having it adds extra work.

Advantages: Works well

Disadvantages: No color changing
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
kevin pearson about  TOM AQUATICS AQUALIFTER DOSING PUMP:
Jul 4, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
vraiment bon pour les overflow box.
domage quil ne vendent pas les diaphagmes a l`unité, car moi cette pompe fonctionne 24 par jour et dure 2 ans gros max...

Advantages: très silencieux
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 3, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Purchased the Glamorca Grye GP-02 for my IM Nuvo 20 for more flow and assist in reducing my detritus build-up. Out of the box, I was impressed with the amount of flow this small wave maker had to offer but I was thrown back by the controller. I am great with technology but there was a serious learning curve in programming the unit, I had even considered returning it but after some persistence and an hour or two of trial and error I was able to figure it out. I am happy I did not return it!

Advantages: - great flow, powerful
- compact and versatile
- programmable


Disadvantages: - controller requires a lot of button pushing to program
- colour, I wish it was black
- manual offers wave descriptions but not actually how to program and go through the menu
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 28, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Quiet efficient and good price. Perform as expected
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 28, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
My tank is in my living room and the wave maker I had, the Glamorca GP03, was so noisy that my family kept complaining about the noise. Decided to spend the money on the XF230 and it is worth it. I have been using it for almost a month now and it is dead silent. The XF230 also make a huge difference in water movement. Easy to set up if you follow the instruction in the manual given or you can just search youtube videos on it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
peter smyth about  Tunze Comline 9001 Nano Skimmer:
Jun 26, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is the best skimmer I ever used for my 35 gallon tank!

Advantages: Easy maintenance and spare parts are available if needed. Small footprint and safe installation.

Disadvantages: After several years use there has been no disadvantages.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 26, 2018
The product is easy to set up and performs exactly as proposed. The delay timer makes startup after water changes simpler/automatic and removes concerns in the event of start up following power outages.

Advantages: Fail safe startup of the protein skimmer following power outage

Disadvantages: none
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 26, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This product works as advertised. I use it in conjunction with Rowaphos and am rewarded with an algae free environment. I only need to scratch clean the aquarium glass biweekly.
Great product !
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 26, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
this is a well made nicely finished over flow.It was easy to plumb and tune. It has the advantage of being built with replaceable 1 inch bulkheads in the rear return chamber vrs. other brands that are cast and have a tendency to crack and cant be replaced. yes it is expensive but considering the slight extra cost from the other brands or a reef ready tank it is money well spent.

Advantages: excellent workmanship ,materials and design. great service and shipping from reefsupplies.

Disadvantages: none found
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 25, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
In theory, this is great. I ahve had it less than 5 weeks in use and the plastic surrounding the magnet has broken off causing the magnet to fall out and crack as well. Overall, the quality is very sub-par for a great idea.

Advantages: Saves time defrosting.

Disadvantages: Very low build quality.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 24, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Very happy with product and service.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 24, 2018
good stand, only 36" I could find and only aluminum one I could find. came fast and in good condition when I recived it. Easy to customize, I turned the floor into my control panel it sloted into the 1/4 " gaps in the rails and cut a tile floor for the base.

Advantages: Sturdy, wont rot or warp, easy to customize. 5 star quality.

Disadvantages: price, no shelf I can supposedly buy one as an upgrade in the next month. for 400$ should come with it. I had to drop 2 stars 1 for price and the second for having to purches a shelf upgrade.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 22, 2018
Very useful little devices, I have 2 in use at this point, one letting me know when my sump is getting low, and the other making sure my tank doesn't overflow. Very easy to connect to your Apex unit, and easy to program your desired response to the sensor being triggered on or off. Just make sure you don't install them with the point facing down, as this will allow a drop of water to sit on the point and fool the sensor into thinking it is still in contact with water.

Advantages: Simple, extremely functional

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 22, 2018
Another great product from Neptune. Having experienced an aquarium failure with my last aquarium, I can tell you this is a must have piece of equipment. It is fairly unobtrusive, and is quite sensitive. your Apex unit will send you an alarm notification email if it detects moisture, or you can have it trigger an audible alarm if you attach a separate alarm to your system. I had this in my basement with my garbage can of rescued live rock from my previous aquarium and because of this I came to know that I had a yet unidentified plumbing issue with my floor drain.

Advantages: simple, sensitive

Disadvantages: price
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 22, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I was reluctant to buy this dosing pump as I was unable to find much information online from actual users. After finally biting the bullet and buying it I'm very happy with it. Its well built, compact easy to set up and so far working perfectly. After clearing all the air from the lines and calibrating each head it was bang on when I tested it. I have about 11' of tubing from my containers to the dosing pump then another 2' to 3' more to the sump and it has no problems pumping that distance. The app is easy to navigate and is very user friendly. Pick the amount you want to dose each day and how many times you want to dose it and the dosing pump does the rest. You can manually dose any amount at any time through the app as well. I highly recommend this dosing pump.

Advantages: App based control so no climbing under the stand to make adjustments. You can tell it how much liquid you have in the dosing containers and it monitors the amount used and gives you the days remaining so you can keep track of when you need to refill. It even comes with a tube holder.

Disadvantages: Non standard tubing size and they don't include allot, however I found 1/8" ID tubing at Canadian Tire that worked perfect.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 21, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
An Excellent product. Really well built and so easy to use, and when combined with the DDR is even more simple. Basically just plug it into your apex and figure out how much you wish to dose and over what time frame and it takes care of everything else for you.

Advantages: Highly adjustable
well made
super easy

Disadvantages: Pricey
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 21, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I agree with everything Lane said above. Great product, super easy, but a touch loud. So versatile when combined with your apex, and I easily set up a completed program which I refined overtime to suit my needs. And my fish totally associate the sound with feeding time, and the all race up to the top of the tank and wait for pellet heaven to rain down.

Advantages: Easy to use, and super programmable.

Disadvantages: Price
front load feeding canister could use a rework, as you need to pull it out from the front to reload it or to adjust the feed amount, but this also serves as the access door, so occasionally the access door will pop off while you are trying to pull the canister out... resulting in a bunch of food dumping in your aquarium. The obvious solution to this though is to wait until it is almost empty before refilling or remove the feeder from your tank before attempting to remove the canister.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Gift certificates